IMG_5293 (1024x399)

Race Committee 101 Seminar

Join the Race Committee Team

10AM to 12PM, April 25, 2015 at RRYC

Join the fun with your friends!  One of the most enjoyable places to watch sailboat racing is as a member of RRYC Race Committee.   Our Race Committee 101 seminar will teach you about all the positions on Race Committee, PRO, mark boat, timer, wind reader, signaler, spotter, scorer et. al.   The seminar will cover the basics of each role and running of races going through a complete start and finish procedure.  Understanding RC roles will allow you to join the fun and watch racing on the River while enjoying the companionship of RRYC club members.

Sign Up:  email Tom Linville:

Cost: $5 for Race Committee Booklet

Instructors:  Tom Linville and Tom Chapman

Rum Tasting Social, April 25 6pm



“Get Your Pirate On…”
Rum Tasting Social
Saturday, April 25th
6:00 pm – 8:30 pm
@ the RRYC Clubhouse

(Hosts: Eric & Kelley Johnson, Arabella Denvir, Sissy Crowther)

Click image for full page flyer!

We’ll provide tasting notes and glasses. Our only hope is that you’ll bring an appetizer to share and any mixer that you might “need.” If you have a unique rum that you wish to share, bring it and we’ll label it at the door!

List of Potential Tasting Candidates:
Mt. Gay – Barbados
Flor de Cana – Nicaragua
Gosling – Bermuda
Pussers – Guyana & Trinidad (blended)
Pyrat – Anguilla
Rhum Barbancourt – Haiti
Ron Matusalem – Dominican Republic
Ron Zacapa – Guatemala
Zaya – Trinidad

RRYC Sock Burning

sockburnSock Burning @ RRYC



The Rappahannock River Typhoon Fleet invites all RRYC members and guests to celebrate the vernal equinox and the beginning of spring by participating in a tradition of the ancient sailors who wore socks all winter long on the seas and burned them with the advent of spring’s warm weather.

  • Friday – March 20
  • 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
  • @ RRYC
  • Bring your own drinks and a “finger food” hors d’oeuvre to share\
  • Don’t forget your old winter socks to toss on the bonfire!

Click HERE for the printable flyer!

2015 Junior Program News

burgeeflying204-marleeGreetings! A meeting was held today regarding Junior Sailing planning. We have come up with some tentative plans that will be announced here shortly, as well as by e-mail to current and former RRYC Junior Sailing participants and families. Please stay tuned, and follow the website for details.  Details posted on the website will also be posted to the club’s Facebook and Google+ pages, so if either of those are your preferred social media platform, please be sure to connect with us there as well:



Seminar on Race Scoring Skills

2012 Banner Burgee.gifSeminar on Race Scoring Skills

the next stage in your race management education!

March 28th at RRYC 9am – 1pm

Presented by Bob Fleck


At RRYC we now have many members who are competent race officials and confident race committee members, which is a wonderful state of affairs. However, most of us lack skills in the most crucial part of the game – producing the results, and producing them quickly. This seminar will close that gap and you will lose your fear of the unknown…

Suitable for everyone who might serve on race committee at any time. Relevant to PHRF classes, Typhoon classes, Junior racing, and Turkey Shoot.

Presenter Bob Fleck is known to you all as a race winning guru but in his daily life he is an IT professional and has done the scoring for the Turkey Shoot for several years.

Topics will include:

  • RRS – how to score, how to break ties, how to score a series.
  • Javascore – how to use it and its quirks and limitations.
  • How to calculate corrected time manually (when you cannot access Javascore)
  • Introduction to other scoring programs. (Yachtscoring, Sailwave, MS Excel)

One Design Classes: Learn how to break ties ties in a series and how to know which races can be discarded etc.

PHRF: Learn how to work out handicap results both manually and using javascore. Time on Distance, and Time on Time scoring. Introduction to new PHRF of the Chesapeake random circular ratings and how to use them.

Turkey Shoot race committee: Learn how the online program works.

What you need to bring: Your laptop (PC, Mac, Linux) with Javascore installed( version 7.2.2). Javascore can be downloaded at: . If you don’t have a laptop you can look in on your neighbour, but there is nothing like hands on training, so do your best. Javascore does not work on Android or IPad tablets.

Cost: Only $6 to cover mid morning coffee break refreshments and admin costs.

To register: please give your name and e-mail address to Typhoon sailor Bill Young –

You can contact him by e-mail on

Please register early so that Bob has time to help you get javascore installed on your laptop.